2013 Moskowitz Prize for Socially Responsible Investing | First Affirmative Financial Network

Posted by folioadmin | Nov 5, 2013 12:00:00 AM

 Download the PDF or View Coverage

Moskowitz Prize for Socially Responsible Investing

Winning the prestigious Moskowitz Prize-the only global award that recognizes outstanding quantitative research in socially responsible investing (SRI)-is no small feat. Since 1996, when US SIF helped to launch the annual prize, winners have explored topics like shareholder activism, socially responsible mutual funds and whether social responsibility in investing is a catalyst to financial performance.

Congratulations to the 2013 Moskowitz Prize Winner: Caroline Flammer (Ivey Business School), was selected from a record 49 submissions for her paper "Does Corporate Social Responsibility Lead to Superior Financial Performance? A Regression Discontinuity Approach." Please click here to read more about this year's and previous years' Moskowitz Prize Winners.

Studies are reviewed by an expert panel of judges from both academic and investment circles, and the winning paper is awarded $5,000 and announced at the annual SRI Conference. Papers are judged on the following criteria:

  1. Practical significance to practitioners of socially responsible investing
  2. Appropriateness and rigor of quantitative methods
  3. Novelty of results

 The Moskowitz Prize is named for Milton Moskowitz, one of the first investigators to publish comparisons of the financial performance of screened and unscreened portfolios, including "The 100 Best Companies to Work for in America."

Sponsors for the Prize include Calvert Group, First Affirmative Financial Network, Nelson Capital Management, Neuberger Berman, Rockefeller and Co., and Trillium Asset Management.

 The call for papers for the 2014 Moskowitz Prize will be distributed in early summer 2014. For questions regarding submission, please contact Prize Administrator Amy Dinh at amy_dinh@haas.berkeley.edu; for other questions regarding the Moskowitz Prize, please contact Faculty Co-Chairs Lloyd Kurtz at lkurtz@haas.berkeley.edu or Nadja Guenster at guenster@haas.berkeley.edu

Written by folioadmin

Recent Posts